Upcoming Events

The Honorable Christine Todd Whitman

President of the Whitman Strategy Group and former Governor of New Jersey.

"On the Field or in the Stands:  Civic Engagement in a Cynical Time"

September 11, 2017
7:00 p.m. - 8: 00 p.m.


Location:  The University Club / Ballroom B (123 University Place, Pgh, PA 15260)

Christine Todd Whitman is the President of The Whitman Strategy Group (WSG), a consulting firm that specializes in energy and environmental issues. WSG offers a comprehensive set of solutions to problems facing businesses, organizations, and governments; they have been at the forefront of helping leading companies find innovative solutions to environmental challenges.

Governor Whitman served in the cabinet of President George W. Bush as Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency from January of 2001 until June of 2003. She was the 50th Governor of the State of New Jersey, serving as its first woman governor from 1994 until 2001.

As Governor, Christie Whitman earned praise from both Republicans and Democrats for her commitment to preserve a record amount of New Jersey land as permanent green space. She was also recognized by the Natural Resources Defense Council as having instituted the most comprehensive beach monitoring system in the nation. As EPA Administrator, she promoted common-sense environmental improvements such as watershed-based water protection policies. She championed regulations requiring non-road diesel engines to reduce sulfur emissions by more than 95 percent. During her tenure, the Agency was successful in passing and implementing landmark brownfields legislation to promote the redevelopment and reuse of “brownfields”, previously contaminated industrial sites.

Learn more...

This American Experience Distinguished Lecture is co-sponsored by the Dick Thornburgh Forum for Law and Public Policy and The University Honors College.



In the photo above: Cokie Roberts book signing following her presentation of the American Experience Distinguished Lecture. Dec. 6, 2016.